Super 2000 for Australia?

I read the other day that Subaru Australia’s Managing Director Nick Senior has raised the idea of new national touring car series for four cylinder and turbo diesel running something similar to Group N or the new Super 2000 regulations.

S2000 in particular sounds very interesting, they’re the same regulations running in the WTCC and BTCC this year. It’d be great to get a local motorsport series that wasn’t a two horse race and was transferrable globally in the vein of 2-litre cars or Group A before it. Who knows, with a little manufacturer support it may just work this time around. Hopefully this great idea will carry a little further through to see a serious commitment being made.

This interesting news follows Subaru’s announcement that they will enter a pair of Impreza STi Spec C’s in the Bathurst 12-hour Showroom Enduro to be held April 8. The number one car has quite an impressive driver lineup: WRC driver Chris Atkinson and fellow rally competitors: three time Australian Rally Champion and reigning Asia-Pacific Rally Champion Cody Crocker and Dean Herridge . The second car is to be piloted by Neil Crompton, a previous winner of the 12-hour behind the wheel of an all-conquering Mazda RX-7 and local production car driver Chris Alajajian, the third driver has not yet been announced (I’m free!).

Subaru Australia have also recently made the move into selling cars purely for motorsport use, a tarmac rally spec Impreza STi Spec C can be yours from AU$65,000 through to a turn-key factory car for AU$160,000.

update 23/Mar: Apparently some more comments were made about a new motorsport series at the Australian F1 GP: “Subaru proposes ‘Four-cylinder Supercars’ championship”

update 27/Mar: Third driver has been confirmed as TV presenter and part-time racer Grant Denyer.